Quantcast
emt plates 240, what about? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
emt plates 240, what about?
Old 8th January 2003
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
emt plates 240, what about?

I have acces to 9 emt plates (great stuff!) 2 of them are called 240. What is the difference with "normal" (I know TS and VT)
(This is my first question on gearslutz, exciting!)
Old 8th January 2003
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Well I am no expert compared to many of my colleagues in this forum, but as far as I know, the 240 plates are smaller than the 140, and less desirable in general. And I'm sure someone will correct me if I am wrong, but I believe the 240 has stereo inputs.
Old 8th January 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
correct..stereo inputs that sum!! the 140 is a steel plate..kinda noisy electronics (Martinsound has a low noise kit)the 240 is a gold foil..warmer..and physically much smaller..with better acoustic isolation
Old 8th January 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Yo foxxy, i told you these sluts know their gear!.........
Old 9th January 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
240 sound very good in my opinion, you can't replicate the sound with any digital effect. The reverb is very dimensional and adds a lot of 3d to your mixes. Wonderful.
It's a lil bit noisy (I see it as built in analog dither) All you have is reverb time and a switchable highpassfilter at 100 hz where you can rolloff the bass from flat, -4, -12 and -24 db. Lookout for the remote control, otherwise you have to run to the unit evry time you want to change the settings. On the remote you can also see the reverb time.

Cheers, Andreas
Old 9th January 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Ditto above post. Although it's not the "standard" plate sound the 240 is quite good in its own right. It's cool with a very short time to put some "space" behind an acoustic or vocal. Especially nice in minimalist songs with few instruments where you don't want it wet yet you want to have some sense of space around the instruments.