The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
I'm buying an Emu sampler. Please let me hear what you think!
Old 24th November 2002
Here for the gear

🎧 15 years
I'm buying an Emu sampler. Please let me hear what you think!

Hello. This is my first post!!

I'm a student hoping to be a professional film composer. After doing some part-tims jobs, I can fnally afford a sampler.

I'm considering buying an Emu sampler, the E4XT.
It costs only $1195, right now.
http://www.emu.com/barginsamplers/bargin.html

I was told several times that Giga studio is the choice for composers, but I don't have enough momey to buy it. Well, actually, I can afford it, but the orchestral libraries for giga are too expensive for me, and I want to play a sampler live.
I palyed the E5000 the other day. I thought it sounded amazing, but I have never palyed Giga or haerd the $4000 strings sounds, so I can't compare the products.

What do you think of my choise?

If you use an Emu, please let me know what you think. What libraries do you have?

Power Mac G4, Digital Performer 3,
Nraki,
Old 25th November 2002
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Well I guess the key issue is that you want to play your sampler live, other than that factor, I would say that the most exciting samplers are soft, like Kontakt, which is Mac friendly but not sure about compatibility with DP. (I expect it is.)

Hardware samplers are a dying breed so if you want one you are well poised to drive a hard bargain new or second hand, make sure it has alot of ram and backup/storage sorted. These essential extras can really push up the cost.

I had an Emu for a while the E6400. It had noisy outputs but was pretty beefy apart from that. I prefer the integration, sophistication and expandibility of softsamplers. They are also cheap. Kontakt will be streaming from disc soon too, and importing giga lib's, it does the key other makes already.