The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Looking for a Versatile Mic
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Looking for a Versatile Mic

Long time reader. First time poster.

Another annoying "which mic should I buy post" just so you're aware. And no I can't afford a great river pre and a u87.

So I used to be a full time musician and now I'm not. I'm actually a pastor but I still really enjoy recording music and I have friends who reach out sometimes for me to record with them.

I need a jack of all trades mic.

Because of this I'm looking for a good all rounder mic. If I was recording for work I'd invest in all the expensive stuff that I know it's incredible but it's not worth the money as it's more of a fun thing for me now

I currently have
Blue Spark
Heil PR22
SM58

I'm thinking of getting one of the following
EV RE20
Heil PR30
Shure KSM32

Reasoning
EV RE20 - umm it's an RE20 I hear it's great on everything
Heil PR30 - hear great things / massive rear rejection so room isn't as big of a factor (I move a lot)
Shure KSM32 - same as the others. It's supposed to be pretty great on everything

I'm kind of learning towards a mic that's pretty flat on the frequency response. The RE20 and KSM32 fit this bill. I know the Heil has a 4k bump but apparently it EQs out well.

I know there's a lot of opinions out there and I'd like to hear yours.

Thanks!
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Welcome to the forum!

Is there something you feel you’re missing from the 3 mics you currently have or dislike about them, based on your experience recording with them and later mixing the tracks?
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Yeah the mics you have cover a lot of ground. Don't buy a mic just because "I read it's great." And NO mic is great on everything.
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
My stock answer to these kinds of questions is always:
  1. What is the rest of your signal chain?