The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Proper use of reverb for creating ambience in rock and metal ?
Old 6th April 2021
Here for the gear

Proper use of reverb for creating ambience in rock and metal ?

Hi,

Although I have been playing the guitar in various styles for a very long time, I am a newbie in the digital recording/mixing department.

I am now using VST's for recording distorted guitar parts, but I have trouble in dialing the right amount of reverb for creating ambiance.

I am using Reaper and have some plug-ins at my disposal as well.

Specifically:
1)My mixes are either too dry or or too wet. It took me a very long time to dial in the right amount of reverb for melding my recent vocal-guitar oriented song mix. (I am using a dynamic microphone for vocals BTW). In comparison to any reference recordings, my mixes have that "demo" quality with regard to ambience. The moment the playback starts, I can hear the lack of ambience. Guitars are the dominant instrument in my tunes and since they are VST's, they provide no room feeling of their own. But when I use reverb (on a bus, not as an insert, and with very low send levels), it sounds amateurish immediately. Is there a way to dial in the proper amount of reverb with reference to a tune whose sound/production I enjoy listening to ?

2) Over a section with 3 distorted guitars (panned L, R and center) with a rather moderate dose of reverb, I was unable to make the solo sit in the mix no matter what I did. The solo would become wet immediately and I found myself preferring to hear it "bone dry" over the 3 reverberated guitars in the background. I have tried delays as well, but they were not much of a solution either. Is there a way to address this ?

Thanks in advance,
Tolga
Old 6th April 2021
Gear Addict

Quote:
have you tried ducking reverb .. on the guitar ..
https://reaperblog.net/2017/04/ducking-vocal-reverb/
or ..
https://www.waproduction.com/plugins/view/mutant-reverb
[ or similar ]