The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How much to charge for my home studio time? Full gear list included
Old 10th March 2021
How much to charge for my home studio time? Full gear list included

Hey, over the past year I've been getting a lot more serious about engineering and production. I've been producing for maybe 5-6 years or so but only really got into mixing and engineering maybe a year or so ago. I spent a good chunk of money kitting out my bedroom studio, and now want to make sure I set a fair price for my customers.

Due to COVID restrictions in my province(Quebec), I've only been able to have a couple sessions recently. I charged 50$ an hour and included free mixing on my own time when the artists weren't in the studio. This seems a bit low, but I would like to entice new customers to book so they can get an idea of my mixing ability, then maybe raise prices in a year or so once I have more repeat customers. I have a friend who owns less equipment and has less mixing experience who just so happens to be a genius with social media and getting his name out there, so he's also charging 50$ and seems to get quite a few customers.

I would estimate I now have around 10k CAD (8k USD) worth of physical gear not including the computer, DAWs, plugins and software. I have written a gear list below. Keep in mind that this is a very small bedroom studio, so it will most likely only be used for solo artists like rappers, singers, guitarists etc.

Microphones
  • Vanguard Audio Labs V13 (large diaphragm tube condenser, my nicest mic usually used for lead vocals)
  • AKG D5 (dynamic, somewhat similar to an SM57 and sounds good on an amp/cab for guitar and bass)
  • Sonarworks XREF20 measurement mic (omni pattern small condenser, mostly use it for zoom/discord calls but could be used as a room mic maybe?)

Controllers/mixers
  • Behringer X-Touch (8+1 moto faders with various other buttons and controls, works much better with Ableton than with Pro Tools)