The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Studio monitor advice (LYD 48 vs core 47 vs a77x vs kh310)
Old 28th December 2019
Here for the gear

Studio monitor advice (LYD 48 vs core 47 vs a77x vs kh310)

Hey all, I’m new around here but have certainly spent my fair share of time reading thru a million threads over the years when I’m looking for opinions or advice!

I’m a producer and am looking to get my home space dialed better so I can do more start to finish work from home. This whole year I’ve done most of my work out of an amazing studio here in San Diego, and while I’ll continue working from that studio, I want to get my home studio up to snuff to really get great quality while working from home.

To start - I’m not in a great room. I have done loads of treatment over the last week, and still have a few more bass traps to build. But i’m Working in my garage and it’s a long skinny room with thin walls - it is what it is. It sounds a helluva a lot better though!

So, I’m lookin to upgrade monitors next. I was originally eyeing the $2k-$3k range, mostly interested in the Dynaudio Lyd 48s or Adam A77xs. But I keep seeing the Neuman 310s highly recommended, and if I decided to use my Sweetwater credit rather than cash on hand I could float that price range.

So, knowing I’m not in a great room and I don’t really plan to be doing a ton of finished mix and master work from here at this point - it will mostly be production, songwriting, and composition as that’s my primary skill set - how much “more” do I get if I open up my budget further? Obviously good room and good speakers help put together a tight production, and normally when I’m finished with a production the track is mostly mixed as is. I just prefer to send it off for someone else with fresh ears on a song to bring it across the finish line. I’m simply trying to get my home space as dialed as it realistically can be, to help me get as close to the same results I can get from a truly perfect room from my house.