Quantcast
How important/crucial are converters for a budget setup? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How important/crucial are converters for a budget setup?
Old 2nd November 2015

So I've been a long time recording hobbyist and have lately been spending hours upon hours of time to learn to properly track/mix. I have also had the fortune of signing a writing/publishing/sync contract for my music, so I've been getting serious and started to rent a small artist space and have put together a modest "project studio"

It's a really inspiring and welcoming atmosphere to record and create in, although it's not acoustically ideal. I'm working on the 2nd floor of a warehouse with limited treatment.

My monitors are budget friendly Presonus Eris 5 and
My current gear is a tascam teac5 console, assorted tape machines, golden age preq-73, golden age comp 54, all going into a Focusrite 18i8. I recently just broke the bank and picked up a Neumann TLM 102 as my nicest mic and am now wondering what to save up for to invest in next.

I would like to get more preamps/mics but I'm wondering if upgrading my interface or converters will be benificial?

I'm not really sure as to how large of a part AD/DA converters play in the signal chain so my question is: given my list of budget gear and less-than-pro space, will my recordings benefit all that much from such a large investment in a nice converter like the aurora? Or I have seen that Black Lion Audio offers a mod for the Focusrite interface that cleans the preamps and decouples the converters for significantly less money. I'm very curious to see what everyone's experiences have been and opinions on the priority/importance of converters outside the "pro-studio". Please give me any suggestions!
Old 2nd November 2015
More cowbell!

2 Reviews written
🎧 15 years