DI Box And Hum? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
DI Box And Hum?
Old 29th January 2013
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
DI Box And Hum?

Hi guys,

Bit confused about something and would love a bit of advice.

So with my amp I get a bit of hum when the gain is cranked which I'm alright with. In the final production of a tune you can't hear it at all and everythings cool but I always wondered about getting rid of it, just for interest's sake. I'm new to using a DI box. I've never had to get rid of it cause as I said, you can't hear it with the other instruments playing.

My housemate works at an AV company and just brought back a nice DI box so I decided to have a play with it tonight.

I whacked my guitar cable in the input and looked at the back, it's only got an XLR output?

First question - for this to work properly, do I need to get an XLR -> 1/4 jack cable to go into the amp?

There's another output for a 1/4'' jack called "Link" which I put a patch cable into and then into the amp and hey presto, it's all working nicely...the guitar is playing through the amp like normal........but still with hum.

What's up with that? I flicked the switches on the box (there's an Earth switch and Power switch) but still the amp is humming? I was under the impression that a simple flip of polarity would get rid of the hum. There's no change whatsoever when I flip the switch...nothing at all.

The box takes a 9v battery that could be the issue but when I flip the power button on, its got a nice blue light showing so I think the battery is alright..

Am I missing something fundemental here?
Old 30th January 2013
Gear Guru

58 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by RileyAWA ➑️
Hi guys,

Bit confused about something and would love a bit of advice.