Quantcast
So I went to compare Fender P-bass to Jazz bass today, but then.... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
So I went to compare Fender P-bass to Jazz bass today, but then....
Old 23rd September 2012
Lives for gear

2 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
So I went to compare Fender P-bass to Jazz bass today, but then....

So I do not currently play bass, but I want to start. I used to have one and I have dabbled in guitar over the years so I am not a total newb. I produce mostly only my own music in my studio and it's of mostly the retro 80s electronic style, nudisco, electro funk, etc, but with more modern dance production style.

I want to get a bass and I want to start of with something amazing because I can afford it and I do NOT like to buy twice. It will be DId into LA-610 mkii. I did a lot of research and most people say the P-bass is essential for a first bass (especially for disco) and has that classic tone, and then you can build from there as you get better if you feel you need something more/different. I always like the Jazz look better so I went to Guitar center today to compare both American Standard versions.

Both felt nice, like the P a tad more...but....then....

I picked up a Raspberry Sorbet Music Man Stingray...holy ****!!! I do not play yet (but I am not a moron and can play a bit) but am I crazy for thinking that these EAT FENDERS for breakfast!!??? The action just felt SO MUCH BETTER and the neck was so easy to get around. I REALLY fell in love!! It seemed like it sounded better even unplugged and was oozing tone. I also much preferred the maple neck for some reason.

So my question is, Sting Ray Classic 4 for first bass?? Can I get that nice P-bass tone from it? Good for disco styles? Ok to go for maple??
Old 23rd September 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
A Stingray was my first bass, and I say YES! Fairly versatile if you get the two pickup version. They're known for a big, fat tone.
Old 23rd September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years