gigging amp advice - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
gigging amp advice
Old 26th March 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
gigging amp advice

Hey guys,

I've been playing guitar for nearly 2 years now but I have always relied on Amp Sims (Guitar Rig/Amplitube). I just completed an album for a singer and I will be playing guitar live with him when he starts promoting later this spring. Since I've been using sims, I think it's time to invest in a real amp. I had these 2 scenarios, which do you think would be better? Or is there another product(s) I should look at instead?

Boss FS-6 Pedal Boss FS-6 | Sweetwater.com
Roland Cube Street Roland CUBE Street (Black) | Sweetwater.com

or get
Roland GT10

If I get this I would just have to hook up to the PA speakers the singer already owns.

Thanks!
Old 26th March 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
If you don't have a powered monitor; get an amp. You can always mic or run a line from an amp to the PA, but if you can't hear yourself, you're in for a lot of problems.

So choice should be amp, modeler + powered monitor. Don't leave the ability to hear yourself in the singerr's hands.
Old 26th March 2012
Lives for gear

Guitar thru pa speakers sounds like ass. Get yourself a little amp. There are a lot of options these days.
Old 26th March 2012 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by litepipe ➑️
Guitar thru pa speakers sounds like ass. .
That statement is a bit too broad...

What PA? Yes, through crappy Behringer speakers it will sound like ass. Through QSC 12" mains? Better. Through a JBL VRX line array with 4 18" subs? won't sound too bad. With large enough systems, the amp will be mic'd to be heard through the PA anyway, and usually live sound people try to make it not sound like ass...