The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Creamy articulate tone
Old 2 weeks ago
Creamy articulate tone

Hi guys...like a lot of home recording people like me, I make up the song then work out the drums with something like Ezdrummer and then record a rough acoustic guitar part to map out chords, changes and all that. Later, depending on the song, I'll replace that acoustic scratch track with electric or acoustic properly recorded. (I hope)

Since I've spent so much time unable to record and unable to play electric guitar and only having acoustic guitar to play, I'm a noob in the ways of creating tones. I can't record actual amps due to sound constraints so I'm with Scuffman Amps or Amplitube 4.

But I'm struggling mightily to find the right tones. Here's an example of the intro for the song I'm doing. I want the intro to be simple drums, bass and an electric guitar tone that's kind of creamy yet articulate. Here's the scratch track...as you can hear the chords are basically octave power chords. I played the scratch acoustic track with an old nylon string guitar. Very simple and this is the feel I want:

Edit: I've removed the link.

But I can't make or find an electric guitar tone that I like. The tones I come up with or find in presets are either too stabby, shrill and thin or too over done and they lose articulation of notes. I guess I'm looking for that happy medium - creamy, some distortion and articulate without being too transparently articulate.

I know almost nothing about dialing in electric guitar tones of this kind.

Any tips?

thankyou

Last edited by hello people; 2 weeks ago at 04:31 AM..
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Based on the information you are giving, that is a bit hard to assess.

What type of guitar are you using? Which pickup.
The easiest (and cheapest) things to try out first is using the neck pickup and heavier plectrum.
Both will give you a less-shrill sound.