Quantcast
New tubes for Bugera 333 infinium - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
New tubes for Bugera 333 infinium
Old 18th May 2016
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
Question New tubes for Bugera 333 infinium

I am looking to replace the tubes in my bugera 333 infinium 212 combo amp. I mostly like the sound it has now, but it is pretty noisy all on its own on the crunch and lead channels. Beyond that, I do like the big, round clean tone I have on the clean channel, but I'm looking for a much tighter distortion on both the crunch and the lead channels. I play very drop tuned heavier stuff, most of the time, but I'm not necessarily looking to have an insane gain, just tighter than what it is right now, if that makes any sense. Also, this thing is stupid loud, so if there is a lower output tube that would make it so I can turn it up past 2 without my ears bleeding, I'm all in for suggestions.
I'm a noob here at replacing tubes. I'm comfortable with electronics, and I've done old fender amps, but just replaced tubes with the exact same thing that was there, so I really don't know much about what is going to get me different tones, where I should be looking, and what options I have. The 333 infinium can use EL34 or 6L6 tubes in the power section. It's a bugera, so obviously I'm looking to stay somewhat budget minded here.

I would really love to hear any suggestions on possible preamp/poweramp tube combos, what people have had luck with, and also if anyone knows a good dealer to go with.

Thanks much in advance
collin.
Old 19th May 2016
Gear Maniac

2 Reviews written
🎧 10 years
It doesn't really matter what tube that you put in it, it's always going to be noisy. They're pretty badly designed and built product (just like all Behringer). This is where all the noise come from.

If you want a tighter sound then use a tubescreamer infornt of it. Have the drive set low and the output 3/4 of the way up. It'll act like a mild compressor and give you a tighter overall sound.