The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
EVE Monitors sc205
4.8 4.8 out of 5, based on 6 Reviews

A great 5-inch monitor with great value!

25th January 2014

Eve Audio SC205 by Alainc

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 4 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 4 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.5
EVE Monitors sc205

I am not an expert on studio monitors let me first put it this way. But I was in the market for a pair of 5 inch not too long ago and had a chance to compare the a5x, cms50, sc205 and the Neumann KH120a side by side at a local dealer.

We listened to Wagner's Flying Dutchman, Sondre Lerche and channel Orange on all of the monitors to have a sense of how they perform on the music styles that I work with.

The KH120a was the first pair I listened to and I was very impressed with the high's. It also gives the best sense of depth among all the monitors tested. The Wagner sounded particularly detailed on the Neumann (German heritage???)

The cms were particularly disappointing. Although hi's still formidable, the mid and low were quite blended. it shows in the channel Orange album. Bass lacks the punch it needed for such genre. Vocal wasn't particularly impressive and stereo imagining, although presence, wasn't as wide as I've found on other monitors. I also find the mid and low were quite colored and not suitable for extended period of monitoring.

it came to me as a surprise as cms were my initial first choice. this testing really put it out of the equation.

Then came the a5x and sc205. Their shared a similar vein in frequency response, especially in their mid and his. (later did I find out the history between the two companies) the a5x outperformed the sc in the mid range though by a margin. Bass is also more colored than the sc's.

I ended up choosing the sc205 though for the following reasons:

1) the bass is more natural and has more punch to it.
2) the hi is equally impressive if not better than the a5x