The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
SE/Rupert Neve RN17-SP
4.4 4.4 out of 5, based on 4 Reviews

Part of the recent Rupert Neve Designs/Se Microphones collaboration, this is a matched stereo pair of the RN-17 small condensor microphones.

2nd December 2011

sE Electronics RN17 Stereo Pair by dsykut

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 4 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.75
SE/Rupert Neve RN17-SP

I'm a veteran engineer and producer in my metro area, having cut my teeth under the guidance of a radio producer who very much believed in the tonemeister school of production....or more simply, get it right with the microphones. I currently work for a prominent local studio (Soundscape Studios is Pittsburgh's Premiere Recording Facility - Hear The Difference) as well as doing location recording, specializing in jazz and classical music. Additionally, I spent 10 years in MI retail specializing in recording and live sound products.

I recently began a search for a matched pair of small diaphragm condenser microphones. While my sonic tastes tend towards high end products- i've long been a fan of MG, Shoeppes, etc- they weren't in the budget. The biggest qualifier was the mics had to match well with my Grace M201 Pre....aka, no OEM or poor quality mics clouding things up in front of my lovely and pristine preamp/converter.

Since taking delivery of the RN17SP's, I've been nothing but thrilled with their performance. I've now had the opportunity to log hours on multiple sources and applications: overheads on drums, classical chamber music, orchestral and choral live performances, solo acoustic instruments.

The build quality is what I'd come to expect from SE....on par with much more expensive brands in fit and finish, down to the attractive aluminium flight case, wooden storage case etc.