Quantcast
MODARTT Pianoteq 7 Standard - User review - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
MODARTT Pianoteq 7 Standard
5 5 out of 5, based on 2 Reviews

A superb physical-acoustical modeling program gets better than ever!

11th April 2021

MODARTT Pianoteq 7 Standard by Sound-Guy

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 5

Pianoteq 7 from Modartt

I’ve been using the Modartt Pianoteq instruments for twelve years – since Pianoteq 3.5 – and even that version impressed me. I still have the four older versions (3.5, 4, 5 and 6) on my studio system, and recently added version 7. I am astonished that none of these excellent virtual instrument packages have ever been reviewed on Gearspace. Of course, I’m just as guilty as any other Pianoteq users for not reviewing them. That stops now!

MODARTT Pianoteq 7 Standard-pt8.png

What is it?
Pianoteq 7 (PT7 from now on) is a set of virtual instruments with acoustic and electric pianos, harpsichords, mallet instruments, and others using physical/acoustical modeling rather than samples. While that would seem to create a huge load on CPU resources, it is actually a moderate CPU user at 1% to 3% total CPU on my system (depending on how many notes are playing or held on with pedaling) and it doesn’t require large memory capacity or fast transfer of reams of data from a hard drive. The current version is a lot bigger than my old 3.5 version and requires about 800 MB of RAM when operating, but has an astounding range of functions compared to previous versions.