7th April 2021

Viking Microphones Orpheum by gostallion

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 4 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.75
Viking Microphones Viking/Orpheum Condenser

Since I am running my little studio on a tight budget I have been looking closely to very inexpensive microphone alternatives. I tried several so far and they have been plastic, poor quality Asian copies that sounded harsh or dark or thin or however. I ran across these Viking mics on ebay and for $99 I thought I would try one of these.
Well, was I surprised! now this is a mic. I am a degreed electronic engineer so, as usual, I took it apart right away like all of them I bought. It has a metal body and framework and the circuitry components were of high quality/tight tolerance. The capsule is a K87 gold-sputtered 1"+ diaphragm with a 34mm brass frame and looked much better than the Asian copies.
The XLR connector is solid (unlike some of those other clones) and fit tightly. It looks like a Copperhead, which is way cool, in dark grey and copper trim and it has a large METAL shock mount (unlike the clones plastic ones), and is in a very nice shiny metal suitcase-style case.
It is obvious this is made in America (listing says Florida), which is a big plus for me. I put it on a stand right next to my name brand go-to mic and started recording. The first project was a voiceover band intro and it definitely sounded better to me and the whole band. I had to process this to get the "announcer " sound (as would have to with any mic) since it will be played in concert sound systems and this mic took to the processing very well.
Next was singing, and again we were amazed at the clarity without too much sibilance and no harshness at all, very little processing was used which is the mark of a good mic. I didn't get any specs with it so I can't speak to freq response but it has extremely low self-noise.