The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mics for recording (classical) cello on a budget?
Old 28th October 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Mics for recording (classical) cello on a budget?

I'm an advanced classical cellist looking to record myself playing solo (Bach suites etc). Can anyone recommend a good single mic or stereo pair within a $150 budget? I've been considering the Rode M5 matched pair, but from what I've heard, it sounds a little bright for cello - anyone had any experience with it? (or would you recommend something better?)

This would most likely be my only mic for a few years, so it'd be great if it could also be used for chamber music applications, particularly cello + piano.

Something that could work in a variety of rooms (from smaller rooms to resonant recital spaces) would be best. I'll be pairing it with a USB audio interface - probably an M-Audio M-Track or similar.

Apologies as I'm fairly new to this. Thanks for your help!
Old 28th October 2014
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 15 years
My advice to you is double your budget to ~$300 and decide whether you want to go cardioid or omni. The link explains which is which with a link to YouTube. The CM3 and OM1 have gotten rave revues here for their price. They are not top-of-the line but they are excellent. And, there are samples and discussions of these bad boys all over this forum.

Link: Line Audio - Swedish Made High Quality Audio Products - Available at NoHype Audio
Old 28th October 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Is your cello a budget-model? If so, a budget mic would be suitable and Boojum's advice is solid. When your instrument and playing is at a serious level you should consider a setup matching that quality.
Old 28th October 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
No, my cello certainly isn't a budget model! I play at a semi-professional level.