Quantcast
Entering the industry - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Entering the industry
Old 28th February 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Entering the industry

Hello, I'm new to this forum as a member (but not as a peruser)
so please excuse any otherwise unneccessary expository information in this post. I'd like to pick your brains about entry into the remote recording industry most notably whether or not I should seek apprenticeship under an experienced recordist or must I get started on my own? I understand that the answer is not either/or, but I guess I'm really asking about the state of the industry and how other members of this forum found their start.

I'll offer you a little background for myself:

I live in Brooklyn, NY (so there is certainly not a lack of recordists or artists)

I attend college as a Math major though I studied music (Cello, Guitar, Bass, Percussion) seriously up until college and intended to study recording, but this was 2009 and finances made me consider a more "practical" path.

Aside from my musical background, I work in theater and live events as an electrician, carpenter, and sound engineer so I've had a good amount experience in load-in/load-out, rigging, operating consoles, etc. with pro equipment for real wages (around 10 years)

Any more and this would be a resume so I'll leave it at that unless I'm asked for anymore.
Thank you for reading this and for being apart of this forum which is inspiring for someone looking to join this community of professionals.
- Andrew
Old 28th February 2014
Lives for gear

5 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
While the "industry" is greatly diminished now, the answer is always look to be an apprentice to an experienced location recording person.

The reason is that you will be able to observe where they set up the mics and what kind of mics are used. Ask them why they choose those mics.