Quantcast
I'm not a recording engineer/producer/mixer/star, I just play one on TV... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
I'm not a recording engineer/producer/mixer/star, I just play one on TV...
Old 28th March 2003
Super Moderator

🎧 15 years
Talking I'm not a recording engineer/producer/mixer/star, I just play one on TV...

What about the Posers?

Or should we just deal with being the ghost "engineer/producer/mixer/star" for them?
Old 28th March 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Worse yet, does it kill you even more when you have to sit back and watch an AE that is just screwing the pooch on a mix in your truck because you are the tech on the gig? . wait, dont answer that.. I may have provided you with one of thise moments....
Old 28th March 2003
Super Moderator

🎧 15 years
Ha, ha, ha,

Come on Steve, You did a great job during the show we did together. And it was a bunch of fun to boot!

But, you're right about the other stuff. Don't get me wrong, there are many engineers that know their stuff, the ones that fly by the seat of their pants are the ones I'm talking about. And, they're growing in numbers each and every day.

...You know the ones - They ask for every piece of gear you got, even if it's not applicable, then they ask you to insert the gear on anything and everything and never bother to adjust the settings. And only when you mention they didn't set anything yet, they ask you to tweak it while they go take a nap...

I believe that's the real reason why they have bypass switches on gear. When they don't tweak and all else fails, switch to bypass, sit back and enjoy the lights flickering on and off while you count your rental dollars at work.
Old 28th March 2003
Gear Addict

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally posted by Remoteness