Mic for female opera singer? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Mic for female opera singer?
Old 10th March 2003
Gear Head

🎧 15 years
Mic for female opera singer?

Long time lurker, first time poster...

Does anyone have any experience and suggestions for recording an opera singer? The mics I've tried include a TLM 103 and a Rode Classic. Both of these mics are too bright and the TLM distorts (no pad). I'm thinking of renting a mic or two and would love any suggestions. I have limited experience with a M-149 but was thinking it might be an option. Unfortunately I don't have a large room to put space between the gal and the mic so this will be more of a pop vocal setup. Thanks!
Old 10th March 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Re: Mic for female opera singer?

Quote:
Originally posted by beggehorn
Long time lurker, first time poster...

Does anyone have any experience and suggestions for recording an opera singer? The mics I've tried include a TLM 103 and a Rode Classic. Both of these mics are too bright and the TLM distorts (no pad). I'm thinking of renting a mic or two and would love any suggestions. I have limited experience with a M-149 but was thinking it might be an option. Unfortunately I don't have a large room to put space between the gal and the mic so this will be more of a pop vocal setup. Thanks!
A classical recordist friend of mine uses U-47's to record his soprano wife. One is an old long body with Frank Sinatra credits, the other is something cleaned up by Stephen Paul. Last weekend he borrowed my Lawson L47MP and now refuses to return it. Anyhow, the results he gets are always great.

-R
Old 11th March 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
The DPA 4011 with a popshield is worth a try.

DW
Old 11th March 2003
SC
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years