Quantcast
Classical Editing - A few questions - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Classical Editing - A few questions
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Classical Editing - A few questions

Hello. My background is in rock music production but I've recently started doing classical recordings. I'm not very experienced with the genre so I have a couple of questions:

1. Do you mix before editing or vice versa? For example, do you mix all the material to stereo and then do 2-track editing for the best takes together or do you keep all your tracks separate in the multitrack and edit them while mixing?

2. I see that most classical engineers use Sequoia, Sadie or Pyramix. I guess it's because of the extensive crossfade editor found in these applications.

But is it really necessary? Apart from speeding things up, is there any function that cannot possibly be done in other software?

Back when they used analog tape all they had was just a linear crossfade with a few different angles, no? Nothing like the options found in pretty much all editors today. And yet they still managed to edit successfully.

So, what do you think?
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajvsbd ➡️
2. I see that most classical engineers use Sequoia, Sadie or Pyramix. I guess it's because of the extensive crossfade editor found in these applications.
Just as (or more) important, it's for their ability to do source-destination editing (aka 3- and 4-point editing).
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 15 years
I have been doing classical recording for over 50 years and I still use, as I have for the past 25 years, Wavelab for most of my editing chores. It works well and one can do most things in either the edit window or the montage. Most of the recordings I do are strait to two track so there is no need for a "mix down". I hope this helps... BEST of LUCK in your new career.
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
1. editing comes first...