Quantcast
Portable Recorders For Production And Classical Work(No budget) - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Portable Recorders For Production And Classical Work(No budget)
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Head

Portable Recorders For Production And Classical Work(No budget)

I'm in the market for a professional portable audio recorder - I have pretty high end professional gear (Bricastis, Massive Passives etc..) but I am new to this portable recording stuff.

I just don't want to have any regrets about sound qualities. I want good converters - I want good pre's. I have an ambeo mic so if it could support that I would be happy.

I just tried to order the Mix Pre 10 ii but it is on a 12 week delay. And I need my unit for October.

What are the sonic differences between the SoundDevices the Nagra, SonoSax, Zoom etc..
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

5 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
I rank SONOSAX SX-R4+ as the ultimate followed by Nagra VI.

Sonosax has superb mic preamps, conversion, and functionality. Offers 135 dB dynamic range. Ideally it should be paired with its companion 8 channel expander box, the AD8+. Then it is a 14 channel or 16 channel recorder.

Nagra VI is a 6 channel recorder. Also excellent preamps and conversion.

I have a Nagra VI for sale for $5500. It is $10,000 new.
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Head

Thanks for answering - I have a set of Avalon preamps m2s and 2022 but they are super heavy - is the 4000 extra worth it sound wise ? (For the sonosax)
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years