Quantcast
Record classical music on budget - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Record classical music on budget
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Record classical music on budget

Hello!

I record mainly flute or violin with/without piano in a variety of room going from my bedroom to big auditorium. And I want to improve the quality of my recordings.

I’m currently using a Zoom H6 and a pair of NT5 (used as spot mic).

Should I keep the zoom H6 as the main stereo or better using the NT5 as the main stereo pair?
I’ve read a lot about the Line Audio CM4. Is it worth buying them as a main stereo and use the zoom only as an audio interface/recorder?

Being a student, my budget is very limited…

Thank you for your help!
Old 4 weeks ago
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
cannot comment on the quality of the built-in mics but chances are that external mics have better specs/yield higher fidelity and certainly are more versatile in terms of mic technique (m/s, ortf, a/b etc.) and positioning options. in addition, external mics allow to keep the recorder in a more convenient position so you still have access to it - there are very affordable but decent sdc's available these days (line audio, lewitt, rode etc.); maybe you can rent a pair before you commit to buy?
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Thanks for your answer.

I tried to place the zoom h6 as good as I thought and I use a remote control…

Not the most convenient for sure…

Here is an example :
Attached Thumbnails
Record classical music on budget-2b3103cd-00bc-409d-ad91-a2a9286eaa4f.jpg  
Old 4 weeks ago
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I do a lot of similar recordings in a similar variety of spaces. I have used an h6 in a pinch, but its not my fav. I generally use a pair of omni mics on a good wide stereo bar. If it's a really large room I'll take 4 and spread them out.