Quantcast
the peculiar desires of a producer for certain (inexpensive) mics... - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
the peculiar desires of a producer for certain (inexpensive) mics...
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
the peculiar desires of a producer for certain (inexpensive) mics...

i've been a freelance tech for close to 40 years and as such, i got to use a wide range of mics from most well-known manufacturers for recording of acoustic and semi-amplified music (and an even larger variety of mics for recording or live mixing amplified music).

now this week, i got an unusual request: a producer urged me to NOT use mics from schoeps or dpa but wants me to bring along mics from rode and akg blue line or - should these not be available - neumann for recording (and later streaming) of chamber music.

i'm not much famliar with rode sdc's but what friends told me is that rode's are ok-ish for amplified music but then, none of my friends did recommend to use them on delicate chamber music - and certainly not in large quantities!

___

anyone else ever got a (somewhat) similar request and if so, what besides maybe budget restricitions was the reason? - i admit that i cannot think of (m)any reasons why someone would NOT want to use two dozens of say schoeps mics?!

[from my point of view it is a bit ironic (not to say stupid) that the total costs will effectively be higher since i have to rent the mics (and the producer btw can be happy that i was able to get enough mics together in a short period of time)...]
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Have you asked the producer for his reasoning? Sounds to me like he asked for the microphones that you see most often on the second-hand market and which therefore have a familiar ring to many not-so-well-informed music involved people. It's a lot easier to sell a pair of Røde NT5's than a pair of Schoeps MK4's, as I have experienced myself.
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Guru

1 Review written