Quantcast
Live broadcast audio standard level - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Live broadcast audio standard level
Old 30th April 2021
Here for the gear

Live broadcast audio standard level

I have been doing studio recording for 20+ years. I have been doing live sound at a church for several years. But it recently went live broadcast. We just got some more money are are doing the broadcast right now. What is the standard level for output from audio for Church broadcast. I read online that mix peak should be -1db to -3db. Though specifically I really heard people saying -1db or -2db should be peak. Then -21.x ish should be LUFS. I am using 48k 32 bit float for the extra headroom. We are then sending this to the video computer through
ReaStream

https://www.reaper.fm/reaplugs/

Yeah, I know it is a free plugin but it works great and it was the best way we could find to send it to the computer. All the signal gets pushed down to 48k 24 anyways.
Old 30th April 2021
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Knowing it will be converted there are often changes to peak values, which I've only seen as high as 0.7dB. ReaStream is a perfectly valid tool for its purpose, just like OBS, which is also free.

However there may be further processing to the audio stream by the streaming platform itself. For example I found I had to set a max of -6dB for Vimeo or else it triggers their compressor which has unsuitable attack/release for music content, probably intended for dialog. You really have to evaluate the user end of the platform to assess what's going on.
Old 30th April 2021
Here for the gear