The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Not sure what to do...
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 15 years
Not sure what to do...

I have not done a live audio or video recording for the past 12 months. My equipment is in storage and has not been used during that time. I am wondering if this will ever end or has the COVID-19 pandemic ruined the live recording business? I am contemplating closing down my remote business entirely and selling off all my audio and video equipment. It seems that every time the people in charge issue a date for reopening it gets pushed farther ahead into the future. I have been doing live recording for 50 years and never had such a long "dry spell".

Just wanted to vent!
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
The thing about making predictions about the future is they so often turn out looking extremely stupid in hindsight.

At the risk of me looking extremely stupid, I think-

we're coming to a point in a month or so where the effects of the vaccines and people having had covid will sort of tell us where we are. The vaccines were opened up to 18 year olds and up a couple of weeks ago here. It takes about a month and a half for the vaccines to be fully effective. This is why I'm saying it may be another month or so before we see the real effects.

Also think the vaccine will have the effect of making people more comfortable about interacting with known, close associates.

Since not everyone will have had the vax or natural immunity due to prior infection, I tend to think venues will continue to have to enforce lower capacities in order to socially distance which will continue to impact live music at least until overall infections decline to such a point that the distancing rules are dropped.
Old 3 weeks ago | Show parent
Gear Guru

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
i'm pretty sure that in rural areas, it will take (a lot) longer before the 'new normal' will emerge and new opportunities might arise (if ever)...