The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Chamber Ensemble Recording Setup
Old 17th March 2021
Here for the gear

Chamber Ensemble Recording Setup

Hello,
I’m brand new to the forum, and this is my first post so please have mercy

I’m a full-time professional oboist and member of a chamber ensemble who performs concerts in a wide variety of venues and in many configurations. We have 11 members: winds, strings, and piano, and from that program all manner of classical chamber music from solo to nonet, dectet and sometimes borderline chamber orchestra (13-16 players).

I’m trying to upgrade my recording equipment from a zoom H4n and boom mic stand. It’s rudimentary I know! Primarily I’m capturing rehearsals and live concerts, usually while also playing inside the group. So my setup needs to be something I can set in place, hit record, and then forget about it. Often within a program we switch setups. For example, our last concert started with string quartet then went to trio of flute, clarinet and piano, then to violin/bass duo, then to a Nonet of flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, cello, double bass. I can do some moving of mics between sets, but it can’t be anything too complicated given that I’m also playing. In rehearsals I have more time to move things around.

The rehearsal recording primarily need to give us honest feedback about balance and ensemble (we are conductorless), so making as natural a reproduction of what’s actually happening is most important. For concert recordings however, we want to capture something that can then be mastered and archived, possibly submitted to local classical radio for broadcast.

I know I will be asked about the budget. I’m thinking of slowly upgrading over time as I become more knowledgeable about what works and doesn’t. I don’t care to spend a ton of money up front only to find it isn’t practical or well suited to what we need. That said, I’m open to an initial upgrade investment of $2-3K.