SP303/404/ or EPS16+

I currently own this setup

SP12(midi out)
To
Akai s950(midi in)

MPC2000(midi out)
To
Ensoniq EPS16+(midi in)

Im a Hip-Hop producer, mad in Love with the Lo-Fi, lower bit type of crunchy griddy feel. Im learning the Akai s950 right now, but do not know much at all of the Ensoniq EPS 16+. I was going to learn it after the950, but I just had a friend offer to trade HIS SP 404 for my Ensoniq..

I understand the EPS has the most memory time to sample with from my current setup, but Im already used to my 5 second limitation from my SP12 that long sample time isnt needed for me. Creati ity with shorter time is always dope. Im just crazy about pads, I LOVE pads, and playing my samples like that.

The 404 would be the slave to my MPC2000 if this trade happens. PLUS I really like the Portable feature for Live performances at shows or on the streets.

PROS/CONS please!

JaytheRumor
Old 2nd March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
EPS 16+

Pros:

DOPEEEEE FX
Variable bit rate (can sound dirty or clean....but def not as dirty as a Boss SP)
Simple to chop when you learn how to do it
It really sounds good...it just sounds good

Cons

Storage (floppy or SCSI for zip drive...there are other options however)
Sample time - IIRC it's like 56 seconds with maxed out mem
Only samples in mono
footprint (ot's huge by todays standards)

Before I continue... are you being offered a 404sx?? I would make that trade for a 404sx ONLY... If it's a standard 404, no way in hell.
Old 2nd March 2014
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Nah, the offer is the 404 (NOT SX). Even tho I have mad combos as far as production goes right now, I still want a 404sx as far as portability for sampling anywhere, to Live performances. I dont think I could get rid of the 16+ now. I just havnt started to learn it yet, I'm learning my s950 first so I can combo up the s950 and SP12
Old 2nd March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years