Quantcast
Playing beats live for the first time: any advice? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Playing beats live for the first time: any advice?
Old 28th January 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
Playing beats live for the first time: any advice?

Hi everyone!
I've been producing beats for over 5 years, but I never made a live show with my beats.
And now I'm about to participate in a local beatmaker contest, and I will have to play a 1-minute live set in a month.
And I have no idea what should I do. How do you play live? I mean, what pieces do you actually play? Kicks? Bass? Maybe you trigger samples? (my music is more melodic than sample-cut).

I can manage to use an MPC2500 (with which I'm not very familiar, but I have a month) or a Maschine with a laptop (with which I'm more familiar).

Thanks a lot for helping me out!
Old 28th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 5 years
Definitely just go the Maschine route and just do mute/solo tracks and some alterations/drops. Don't over think it, the audience has probably never heard the beat yet so try to look at it from a newcomer's perspective and just make it fun.
Old 28th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
You happen to live in San Antonio? There's a beat-off (lulz) here in town in about a month. If not, awesome coincidence. Sorry I cannot answer, just wondering if you're here too ha.

Peace
Old 28th January 2013
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
I'd just bring 2 tracks and make sure my stuff is mixed tight (like tight, low end in chek everything and sounding good on a PA, if you're not confident on your own get your stuff mixed) and limited to commercial standards.
Old 29th January 2013
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
Thanks for your thoughts guys. I'm not in San Antionio and not even in US, I am from Eastern Europe.
Any other advice?
Old 29th January 2013 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nahuel ➑️