Quantcast
Artist steals pre-produced version of the song - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Artist steals pre-produced version of the song
Old 23rd September 2012
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
Artist steals pre-produced version of the song

Hey, I searched around a bit but could not find any recent threads referring to a situation like this. I'm fairly new to hip hop production as a business and running a home recording studio. So I guess it's fitting that this being is my first experience I end up getting burned.

Over the period of the last few months, I have written, wrote and produced several tracks for a local rap artist with the intention of building my credibility and developing the artists career. Halfway into the project it became obvious the artist was a handful, drunk, basket case who had many personal and drug problems, which interfered with his rapping ability and wasted countless studio hours. He claimed he needed the rough mixes of a track we had a female singer feature on, so believing in my heart that good people exist and that it could benefit the final product I did. Since that e-mail we have made plans of finishing the project with him agreeing to pay compensation for my time and studio rentals. However, last night he posted the rough version of the song on his soundcloud with no credits to me and a statement that it's going to be on his upcoming EP.
I have received no compensation for any of the work I've done so far and he has no intention of paying or crediting me for my work. The female who sang on the hook on the track is unaware of the current situation in our business relationship and also has not released or signed anything saying who owns the rights to her accompaniment on the track.
Is there any legal action or action I can take up with Soundcloud to have my productions taken down?