Quantcast
Attack and release - Compression - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Attack and release - Compression
Old 18th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Attack and release - Compression

How do you determine the proper adjustments for attack and release on a compressor applied to vocals?
Thanks
Old 18th September 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
The first thing you have to determine is what are you trying to achieve...
Old 18th September 2012
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Cmon man. You listen!

If you don't understand what to listen for... then how do you know you need compression?

Not to be rude but at some point you have to study some stuff on your own and come to some common sense conclusions!
Old 18th September 2012
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Jeez why the negativity? Im new to this and doing my research NOW, that's why I'm asking. I thought these forums were meant to help each other out? Guess not
Old 18th September 2012
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Yeah, there is no end-all-be-all compressor settings. Gotta use them things on the side of yer head.

All music knowledge is gained through practice, practice, and more practice. About 5 years ago, I could tell you in theory what every knob on a compressor did. I could have aced an exam on compression. HOwever, in practice, I didn't have a clue what it did to the sound.

You gotta get out there, record a vocal line, and experiment with every knob on a compressor to find out what it does. And to take that one step further, every compressor is going to react differently. My API sounds different than my 1176. My buss comp sounds different than my 160. Etc...

Now, get to work.

JROD
Old 18th September 2012
Gear Addict

🎧 5 years
the best place to start though is knowing WHY you want to compress...I'll bet you will get a lot more help if you come back with a more specific question.
Old 18th September 2012 | Show parent
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 10 years
Quote: