The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Anybody here recording FLUTE ?
Old 1st September 2010
Gear Maniac

🎧 15 years
Anybody here recording FLUTE ?

Hi everybody,

After searching for a thread dedicated specifically to recording flutes in the hip hop forum, I realized that there was nothing.

So I would be interested in knowing how those among you who record flutes go about it?

What mic? What about ribbon mics for examples ?

What position ?

Any reverb / delay of choice ?

What pre-amp ?

And eventually, since I'm totally new to the matter :

What flute brands sounded good to your hears ?

Here's the kind of sound I'd like to go for "live" (as opposed to sampled/or played from a leyboard):

And special question for PSM and all the old school cats (and young ones with an old school state of mind) :

How were flutes recorded in the 1970s ? What mics could they have used ? What flutes ? (I know it's a very broad question... sorry, maybe somebody can help)
Old 1st September 2010
Lives for gear

🎧 10 years
Back in the 80s when I recorded woodwinds like flute and sax, it was a LDC about four to six feet away from the horn, directly in front of the player, in a really good room with a really good player. The sound from a flute or other woodwind comes from all over the horn, not just at one place, so you can't close mic it. The room is going to be part of the sound, so you can't record it in a vocal booth, for example.
Old 1st September 2010 | Show parent
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 15 years