Quantcast
arrrrrrghhhhhh help! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
arrrrrrghhhhhh help!
Old 8th February 2009
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
arrrrrrghhhhhh help!

i have stressed myself for far too long (4 months) without recording at all. i need to record NOW!!!

ive managed to get an old macbook (one with firewire) specs:

2.16 ghz
2gb ram
and its the merom macbook from mid 2007 so i guess no problems like people have with the later models

it will do for the minute.

now ive got the mic but im on a very tight budget so the apogee is out of the window (please dont tell me to buy the duet as its the "only option". im likely to end up being sectioned if you do)

ive got around Β£220 ($325) so the firebox is right in my range.

ive read mountains of reviews on audio interfaces over the last week and all i seem to find is bad things on everything im even thinking of buying.

all im doing is recording one mic. i have no experience with sound so i guess i wont notice too much difference in the pres etc. all i want is a good/reliable device (if thats possible for my price range)

thank you in advance and thank you for saving my head even more stress!

peace
Old 8th February 2009
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Why not get a Digidesign M Box. You get all the Pro Tools software with that and it will sound pretty decent
Old 8th February 2009 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
do you mean the old one? or the mbox 2?

isnt the m audio profire 610 a better interface?

so far my choices have been rounded down to:

m audio profire 610...

edirol fa66...

echo audiofire 4...

firebox (though im seriously going off this)

m audio fast track ultra

ive been on lots of sites and these seem the top choice for my price. im just unsure which one lol
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
I've used the firewire 410 from M-audio for about 2 years now and it works great. If you only have one mic that might be a nice option for you.