Quantcast
Rappers! Compressor Unit Use? Help! - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Rappers! Compressor Unit Use? Help!
Old 4th February 2009
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Rappers! Compressor Unit Use? Help!

Im new to the recording side of things. have few questions. would appreciate your help.

Is compression needed for tracking rap vocals? one of my engineer said yes cause if the artist gets too loud, and its tracked that way, u cant undo the damage in the mixing. its better to be on the safe side. he right?

is it difficult to use a compressor at home studio in your room environment.. i never used one before. the room is not treated, but im figuring lookin for ways for a quik, thats a topic of its own.

how are the settins preffered for a general recording/tracking vocals?
Old 4th February 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skorch Trakz ➡️
Im new to the recording side of things. have few questions. would appreciate your help.

Is compression needed for tracking rap vocals? one of my engineer said yes cause if the artist gets too loud, and its tracked that way, u cant undo the damage in the mixing. its better to be on the safe side. he right?

is it difficult to use a compressor at home studio in your room environment.. i never used one before. the room is not treated, but im figuring lookin for ways for a quik, thats a topic of its own.

how are the settins preffered for a general recording/tracking vocals?
You are going to get some moans because this question has been asked A LOT of times already.

A compressor for tracking vocals can be helpful if it's not abused. Compressing too much can be just as bad as distorting with digital overs.

Knowing your talent a little, setting the right gain settings, compressing or limiting just a little and maybe even riding the fader should serve you well with practice.