Quantcast
How to write contract for artist interested in my beat? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
How to write contract for artist interested in my beat?
Old 4 days ago
Gear Head

🎧 5 years
How to write contract for artist interested in my beat?

Hi!

I couldn't find a perfect place within this forum to post this question but I think this is the closest I can get.

I normally sell beats on Beatstars. I've done this for about a year only so when I first started off I copied another producer's licenses and use the same "license-terms" and templates as him. More specifically, I'm pretty new to this license-stuff and the sales have taken place almost automatically and it have worked out for me cuz I get payed and the customers are happy so I have never really had to digged in much deeper into licenses.

What has happened now is that an artist has sent me a private message on Instagram, where I promote my beats, and says he wishes to work on a specific beat with me and asks me if I'd like to send him the beat so he can put lyrics onto it. The artist is not world-established but also not un-established and from his previous stuff I consider he has a lot of potential in growing since he already has thousands of followers and fans.

To sum it up, I would normally just tell the guy to buy any of my licenses for the beat through Beatstars, but since this is a big chance for me to get my beat out to someone seriously good with a lot of potential I'm willing to send my beat to him with no charge.

BUT, If I do so, I would still like to get some percentage of any money he could potentially earn through streams.

So here I am, wondering if I should write a specific license for him, something that ensures I don't get ripped off for giving away my beat for "free", while my conscience clashes with the fear of scaring him off for being too complicated to work with.