Rupert Neve Design’s, Designer - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Rupert Neve Design’s, Designer
Old 11th February 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
Rupert Neve Design’s, Designer

To all,
I am Drake Williams and I had worked with Rupert Neve before there was a Rupert Neve Designs.
I was Rupert’s Hardware Engineer, or designer as I prefer to be called from Nov. 2004 to Nov. 2008.
I have designed every PCB and designed 98% of the metalwork for Rupert, from the Masterpiece project with Billy Stull thru the entire Portico range, all of them.
Including the acclaimed and award winning 5008 Console, from concept to production, and finely the first Fidelis concept prototype, including the metalwork and PCB’s.

I have been a PCB designer for over 22 years, designed PCB’s that have gone in to everything from down-hole oilfield tools to satellite’s, North Sea GPS communication buoys, Traffic control, just about anything.
I started in to the box build/mechanical aspect of this line of work about 14 years ago, found out I just had a knack for both.
Great, two birds, one stone.

I have been a designer for decades thou all my designs have been behind the scenes, stuck in a box, in box in the middle of no where, if you live in the southwest you drive past my designs every day, heck, I drive past designs everyday and never give it a thought.

For once in my career people have had a chance to see what I can do and Rupert brought out the best in me.

I will say working for Rupert and designing gear for the this industry has been the most fulfilling of my career, Rupert told me once I was one of the great designers he had ever seen, I take that as a great compliment, for Rupert has seen it all.

I must say my ego has not suffered from the reviews on how I have designed the Portico’s or the 5088, keep in mind, I design the boards and box, not the electronics that go inside, that was up to the Electrical Engineers.