Gearspace.com

Gearspace.com (https://gearspace.com/board/)
-   High End (https://gearspace.com/board/high-end/)
-   -   STT-1 Origin (https://gearspace.com/board/high-end/96037-stt-1-origin.html)

Audio Hombre 24th November 2006 11:49 PM

STT-1 Origin

Hi, I have a couple of questions for guys / gals working with this unit.I've been using one for about 5 months now, primarily on lead female vocals, in styles ranging from R&B to Folk...I did a serch here, found THIS topic but it was closed.

I'm a big fan of the unit and there's really nothing about the ch that I've found that I haven't liked, especially compared to my 737sp.

What I'm curious about, are people's applications of the xfrmr and ss modes. I've tried the ss mode on a few of the vocals so far, but each time end up going back to VT, as it seems to suit the style, more than the colored ss mode. Are people around here using SS mode more so for "rock" vox by any chance?

Also, I have a session coming up where we're doing some electric guitar overdubs, but there isn't a pre with xfrmr's available (we might be able to muster up an 3124, but not sure) and I'd prefer to use a pre with some color on these electrics. Has anyone used the STT-1 in ss mode, xfrmr IN on electrics and if so, what sort of results were had and is there something that it could be compared to for reference?

Any comments / tips will be appreciated

NathanEldred 25th November 2006 12:16 AM