Feature Film Sound Design - Pre-production - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Feature Film Sound Design - Pre-production
Old 24th January 2013
Gear Nut

🎧 10 years
Feature Film Sound Design - Pre-production

Hey Everyone!

So I'm a student, finishing up my senior year in college, and trying to get some experience before I head out into the job market. I'm currently involved in a super-low-budget feature film project, for which I will be doing location audio and post-production sound design, and re-recording mixing. I'm doing the location gig for free, because I will receive school credit for it. As for whether or not the post-production part will be pro bono as well, I don't know. The budget is nearly non-existent, but if I can convince the director on set that I'm "worth it" then hell, maybe I will get paid!

The thing is, I've never done sound design for a feature before. I've done plenty of student films, and I feel like I have a real grasp on how to develop a sound design for a runtime of 20ish minutes. But thinking about 80+ pages of sound effects, foley, and meta-physical elements (it's a horror film), is a whole new challenge for me.

My question is: Are there any routines that you have in place that help you stay organized throughout the process of sound design for a feature film?

And if you have any other tips about the process, please feel to share those as well.

This is an awesome community, and I'm really happy I can ask this kind of question and (hopefully) get some intelligent and genuinely thoughtful comments. That's a rare thing, these days.

-Isaac
Old 24th January 2013
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
I've been in the same boat, not all that long ago. So the advice I have is one from a guy who was a student, now doing ok work wise a couple years out of school.