Quantcast
panning Q from non pro - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
panning Q from non pro
Old 27th November 2009
Gear Head

๐ŸŽง 15 years
panning Q from non pro

I'm helping a friend do sound and scoring for his no to low budget promo video for his/my private school. It's a giving back kind of thing. And it's turning into a doc and he wants to put it on DVD and Blue Ray. Now, I'm a composer/orchestrator who has done a lot of work in high end film and done some low end scores on my own, most of which I mixed myself. I don't totally suck. But I'm not a sound editor/dubbing mixer. My friend is using Final Cut Pro and he's sending me VO and stereo background sound on separate tracks. What's the usual approach for panning backgrounds (if 'backgrounds' is the right terminology) or do you mess with that at all?

Thanks very much for helping out this very non post pro with any advise if you can.

Jim
Old 28th November 2009
Gear Head

๐ŸŽง 15 years
Okay, too much useless info in the first post. Let me re-phrase. I'm working with stereo production sound captured by a high end sony hd camera. The project is a documentary so there will be no panning effects. Just wondering if it's typical for the original capture to get hard panned L&R. Being a music guy, will hard panning get in the way of the score.

Thanks
Old 28th November 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 10 years
Cool

About 99% of the time the dialog, VO, etc. is dead center in a stereo mix or the center speaker in a surround mix.