The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
stereo to 5.1
Old 24th October 2009
Here for the gear

🎧 10 years
stereo to 5.1

Hello,

I'm quite new at mixing 5.1 commercials. Here's my question:

I did a stereo mix of a TV commercial. This spot is going to be played once in a movie theater. The client dosn't want the spot to be specially remixed to benefit the surround playback of the room. But the technical sheet of the event precisec that the spot should be sent in six files.

Is it better to bounce my project in 5.1 multi-mono leting 4 channels silent or should I add the mono content of the spot and place it on the center channel. So my mono information is on the L-R channels plus the Center channel.
Does that make sense or is ridiculous ??

Thanks for your advises
Old 24th October 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
here's a few choices to convert stereo to 5.1

Unwrap:
Introduction

SoundField:
SoundField: UPM-1 Stereo To 5.1 Converter

Penteo:
Penteo, LLC:Β The Cleanest 5.1 Surround Sound in the World
Old 25th October 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
And not forgetting Waves UM225 & UM226. I used them a couple of times for cheap(ish) and cheerful upmixes to surround and got acceptable results.

Wouldn't want to make a habit of it though - definitely not on a par with the real thing.
Old 25th October 2009 | Show parent
Gear Head

🎧 10 years
with alot of experimentation, i've actually found the results of the UM226 to be really good for upmixing music.
Old 26th October 2009 | Show parent
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by jafbox ➑️
with alot of experimentation, i've actually found the results of the UM226 to be really good for upmixing music.
No. You might mean "acceptable-ish" but no upmix is as good as a proper, discrete surround mix from the original source/multitracks.
Upmixes should carry a warning too - exact wording is recommended in the RPG ducuments, but should be something along the lines of