Quantcast
attaching audio to HD video - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
attaching audio to HD video
Old 1st April 2009
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
attaching audio to HD video

This is my first time going all the way through sound design on a film. This forum has already been very helpful in answering some of my n00b questions.

And now I have another.

We have a rough cut to be submitted for a workshop lab. What is the best way for the audio I've created in Pro Tools to be married to the hi quality video that the editor has in Final Cut?

At first, I figured I would create a beep at a specified time before the first frame of the video file he gave me. Then he could add my stems into Final Cut at the specified beep time. But then I started wondering if FCP could do a decent job of mixing the audio stems together.

Is this ok for a rough cut? What is the common practice?

Thanks!
Old 1st April 2009
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradhebert ➑️
At first, I figured I would create a beep at a specified time before the first frame of the video file he gave me.
Word on the street is that 2 seconds before the first frame of action is a pretty popular place for such a beep.

Mix the program in your setup, then give the editor a stereo mix file that s/he places on the FCP timeline. I would make your audio file the EXACT length of the QT they gave you. Select the QT on your timeline and print that.
Old 1st April 2009 | Show parent
Gear Maniac

🎧 10 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by minister ➑️
Word on the street is that 2 seconds before the first frame of action is a pretty popular place for such a beep.

Mix the program in your setup, then give the editor a stereo mix file that s/he places on the FCP timeline. I would make your audio file the EXACT length of the QT they gave you. Select the QT on your timeline and print that.
Thanks!