The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Anyone doing post WITHOUT an AJA or BM interface?
Old 26th February 2021
Gear Addict

10 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
Anyone doing post WITHOUT an AJA or BM interface?

I've been mixing TV documentaries for a couple of years now quite happily using the internal Avid Video engine and a window on one of my monitors. No AJA or BM card in sight.

My Post shop is tiny and all I'm dealing with are screen-locked 22 min videos for TV/Digital. No 5.1 and no working with the video editors (other than sending them the final mixes+stems).

It's all been going just fine, but I was wondering if I am missing anything? I know a lot of the bigger shops have BM and AJA setups. I was wondering if I need to go down that path or if I should just keep on as I am?

Keep in mind that my market is smaller, local productions - It still has to sound good, but I don't have mega budgets presented to me. The business works because I keep things simple.

Anyway, some input would be ace.

Thanks!

H.
Old 26th February 2021
Gear Maniac

🎧 5 years
Aja/BM have a more steady sync, even without expensive genlock. They always output a fullscreen video output without hassle, at a refreshrate equal to your videofile so it doesn't have to fit a 25fps framerate into your 60Hz computermonitor output (although some setups using hdmi will allow video refreshrates when connected to a tv/hdmi input I guess).

It's a fairly cheap quality of life thing.
If you are using a computer monitor for video it's better to stay as is.
If you are using a tv set you can buy the cheapest BM card and use that.
Old 26th February 2021
Gear Addict

🎧 10 years
Check out the BM Ultrastudio Monitor 3G or Aja T-tap - TB3/TB2 in (respectively) with just a hdmi out. Definitely more solid than desktop video for not a lot of money. Worth it if your running through a TV
Old 26th February 2021 | Show parent
Gear Addict

10 Reviews written
🎧 15 years
Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation ➑️