Internships AKA Corporate Slavery - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Internships AKA Corporate Slavery
Old 14th June 2016
Here for the gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
Internships AKA Corporate Slavery

I am a student soon to be graduating an audio engineering program at City College in NYC. This summer I emailed 11 Post Productions facilities in total, of which two responded. I pursued each further and decided I would take an unpaid internship position at "Batman" Sound, which is located on 45th street in midtown manhattan.
At first I was excited, the studio manager, 'Jakey', seemed friendly and told me to come in for an interview. When I spoke to him in person, I felt like he was a good guy, I related to him because he was a fellow engineer following the same passion.

He told me that the internship might be more involved than others, and that I would have to perform the 'normal intern duties' like running errands and preparing/cleaning the rooms before sessions. He told me that it was a full time position 9-4 Mon-Fri, which seemed like a lot of hours, but I was content.
The next day I received a call from 'Jakey'. He wanted me to come in on Monday and begin interning at "Batman." I accepted and on Monday I came in for my first day.
I knew that being intern wasn't going to be glorious, and that it involved grunt work, or possibly even emotional mistreatment, but I nonetheless came in with a good attitude.

When I arrived I was surprised to find that most of my 'intern duties' where actually custodial, including sweeping floors and washing dishes, not to mention my actual hours were a full 9-5.