Quantcast
Looking to "downgrade" mic - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Looking to "downgrade" mic
Old 2 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Looking to "downgrade" mic

So I do commentary/narration/video essay like content on YouTube, and I saved enough enough that I wanted to upgrade to a "pro" mic, as I've been using an ATH 2035 for a long time that just felt flat and boring to me.

Preface: While I know enough to make youtube content, I am not an audio engineer, so I apologise for ignorance in this post.

Doing the best research that I can, I heard much about the MKH416 being the best voice over mic, and eventually settled one that. I had overlooked the largest criticism: that the mic is way too "in your face". After using it for enough time (but still in the return period), I found that to be true.

I'm using a Scarlett 2i2 for the audio interface, and as for room treatment, its not perfect. I do have a handful of DIY acoustic panels in front, as well as one to the side, with some cheat foam on other walls including a bookcase. While I do have some base traps and more panels coming, its not going to reach pro studio levels.

Basically, I'm looking for something "smoother" and better for longform narration, as the MKH416 hurts my ears after only a few minutes. I've seen that Wendover productions uses an Electrovoice RE20, and based on my room, I've been thinking about just getting back $500 and going with a dynamic mic+cloudlifter. That or an SM7B. I do understand you lose some clarity with that.

I've attatched some raw MKH416 audio as well as the same audio with Eq/compression. Would an RE20 or an SM7B fit my voice better? Or should I work a little harder on my space and get something like a TLM 103?

Thanks for help!
Attached Files

mkh416eq.wav (6.54 MB, 299 views)

mkh416raw.wav (6.54 MB, 294 views)

Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

1 Review written
🎧 5 years
Your clips won’t play for me, which may be your problem or mine.