Quantcast
Jules' studio build project - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Jules' studio build project
Old 2nd June 2003
Jules' studio build project

I am converting this office upstairs from my studio into a drum room & vocal booth. I have been using a tiny drum / overdub booth for 3 years and have had to book larger facilities to track in more 'style' & keep 'serious' clients. Hopefully this new space (more than 3 times the size of my existing recording area) will allow me to keep projects in house as they grow "hey we could do the album here, why not?" is my goal.

There is a separate door for each area:

Small live room / control room
Upstairs / live area / vocal booth /kitchen

This will be a pain in the ass!

I will document the build here.
Old 2nd June 2003
The view as you walk in

The line of the banisters will form a new wall, isolating the stairs, kitchen & bathroom from the recording areas.
Attached Thumbnails
Jules' studio build project-viewupstairs.jpg  
Old 2nd June 2003
View acrross into main live area and glass partitioned "vocal area"
Attached Thumbnails
Jules' studio build project-view-into-live-area.jpg  
Old 2nd June 2003
View to front across the live area
Attached Thumbnails
Jules' studio build project-top-accross-2-front.jpg  
Old 2nd June 2003
Kitchen area + WC
Attached Thumbnails
Jules' studio build project-into-kitchen-loo.jpg  
Old 2nd June 2003
Better look at 'vocal booth' featuring Martin, ace studio wireing expert.
Attached Thumbnails
Jules' studio build project-acroslive-area-booth.jpg  
Old 2nd June 2003
View as you leave
Attached Thumbnails
Jules' studio build project-downstairs-kitch.jpg  
Old 2nd June 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Hey Jules, looks pretty cool. You are gonna get some good excercise running up and down the stairs when you are tracking drums!

How does the vocal booth (with the glass wall) sound??

Good luck on the build!
Ian
Old 2nd June 2003
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years