Suggestions for Recording Acoustic Folk Ensemble - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Suggestions for Recording Acoustic Folk Ensemble
Old 15th March 2014
Here for the gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years
Suggestions for Recording Acoustic Folk Ensemble

Hey Gearslutz,

I'm a guitarist who's taken on and embraced the role of amateur producer/engineer for my rock band's recordings. My side project is an acoustic folk group that plays Greek folk tunes, and I've been asked to engineer a recording of a few songs for that group! Over time, I've been able to get together some basic equipment and knowledge to record decent enough recordings of my rock band, but I am at a loss for what the best recording technique would be for an acoustic group, and I was hoping that you all might be able to help suggest what I should do. I'll give you the rundown and my best guess at what I should do--feel free to poke holes in it or suggest new ideas altogether. I've been a lurker for a while, but I finally registered an account here so that I could post this--thanks for the wealth of information that you guys have always provided!

The Task:
Record a Greek acoustic folk group playing around 10 songs over the course of 2-3 three-hour recording sessions. The group will take the basic tracks live as a band, because the group really feeds off of one another to build energy over the course of a song. We will likely record in a carpeted classroom or small banquet hall at a church. Since we have limited time to record and because I'm also playing acoustic guitar in the group, I can't experiment too much with wildly different placements, unless I tweak things between each session, so I'd like to get a "best practice" from you guys that I can set up and fine tune at the beginning. We're not expecting to get anything studio quality, but I'd like to maximize the sound with what I've got.

The Group:
Vocalist
Bouzouki (also vocalist)
Acoustic Guitar
Electric Bass
Mandolin
Viola
Flute

My Equipment: