Quantcast
Question regarding Interning and 'Career' Paths - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Question regarding Interning and 'Career' Paths
Old 10th March 2014
Gear Nut

🎧 5 years
Question regarding Interning and 'Career' Paths

Forgive me if all this im about to type is irrelevant, im just a noob asking questions haha.

So after getting some feedback on here I decided it would be best to get interning ASAP rather than waiting until my schooling started where they have internship placements (which I originally planned on doing.) Only potential issue though is im not exactly sure which path I am going to take after school, whether it be music, film or game. Music is what I would prefer, but with the way the music industry is going (and also correct me if I am wrong) film seems more..stable?

So ill try putting this question into the best wording that I can- When you begin interning at a record studio for example, are you committing to progressing your career in THAT studio alone? Because like I said I don't know where I am going to end up after school for sure whether it be music or film. So say for example I intern at a record Studio for a year then decide closer to schooling being done that I want to go in the direction of audio for film, would I need to restart interning at a new film studio and start from scratch with my internship? Because im assuming individual studios don't really give a **** about how much coffee you had to make for the other studios, they just want you to pay your dues in THEIR studio? Would my time at the record studio be 'useless'(for lack of a better word) and It would be as if I was just starting fresh at the film studio, assuming they only bring me on as an intern.