Roommate Gave Me A Bunch Of Gear... Please Help - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Roommate Gave Me A Bunch Of Gear... Please Help
Old 6th March 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Roommate Gave Me A Bunch Of Gear... Please Help

Hey!

I'm very new to audio engineering, and basically have been learning by doing. Recently, my old roommate moved out and said to take all this old gear he hasn't used in years (it was from an old band in highschool, but doesn't play with them any more). I'm trying to figure out what all they do and how I can use it to improve my home studio.

I have a mac book pro, and basically just use garage band. I am wanting to move into pro tools later down the line, but for now I am working with what I've got.

So here is the new gear that I got:

1) Motu 2408mk3: I figured out its an audio converter, and probably need an audio wire to firewire cable is what I assuming to connect to the computer. Any advice is much appreciated.

2) Behringer Model ACB 808P: google says it's a connector box, but I have no idea what it's for... my guess is mic preamp???

3) Berhinger Powerplay Pro-XL HA4700: headphone monitors???

4) Furman Power Conditioner PL plus

5) Furman Power Conditioner plp series (it's red)

Now I am not sure how to connect it all together or how to connect to my computer. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!
Old 6th March 2014
Lives for gear

🎧 15 years
Motu to MBP, and monitoring

MBP TO MOTU
The socket on the Motu labeled "audio wire" is a firewire 400 port. Your MBP has either a firewire 800 port or a thunderbolt port depending on its age. So you need a cable with firewire 400 at one end, and either firewire 800 or thunderbolt at the other. There are also adapters with any combination of F800, F400 and Thunderbolt. On the Motu site you can get the software drivers that will let your MBP talk to the Motu.

MONITORING