Quantcast
Compressor settings for slap bass that changes to finger bass? - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Compressor settings for slap bass that changes to finger bass?
Old 5th March 2014
Lives for gear

1 Review written
๐ŸŽง 10 years
Compressor settings for slap bass that changes to finger bass?

I just picked up an FMR RNC compressor. In a few weeks I will be recording my brother on bass (2 channels, 1 his live rig mic'd and the other sansamp)

I'm new to compression. What would be a good compression setting to start off on to capture this style of playing:

Notice around 28 seconds he does a quick run with his fingers and the vol decreases a lot. I want to be able to pull that up and limit the spikes of the slaps etc.

Where would you start for threshold, ratio, attack and release? I need a starting point before I start tweaking etc.
Old 5th March 2014
Lives for gear

๐ŸŽง 5 years
Exact settings are going to depend on the exact compressor you're using, and on the settings of the rest of your signal chain, so this answer's going to be more conceptual, which IMO will help you more anyway.

You'll probably want a relatively low threshold, just above the peak level of his fingerstyle playing, allowing you to tame the stronger thumbstyle sections. You'll set this by turning the ratio to maximum, then having him play fingerstyle and reducing the threshold from maximum until you see the gain reduction kick in; when you do, raise the threshold till you don't see it anymore, or only see it on the very loudest notes.

Then, set the ratio to taste; you want the thumbstyle playing to be slightly louder, otherwise it'll be obvious you're squashing it, but obviously you need to keep it under control. When you have a good balance between the two, bump the gain to take advantage of the increased headroom the compression's giving you, and that will bring up the fingerstyle level relative to the compressed thumbstyle.