Quantcast
Help with choosing second pair of headphones - Gearspace.com
The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Help with choosing second pair of headphones
Old 4th March 2014
Here for the gear

🎧 5 years
Help with choosing second pair of headphones

So here's my deal. I'm a traveling musician, country to country, and I've always mixed with monitors, so that's not an option anymore. I have to be mobile, so I have to use only headphones. I have a pair of sennheiser sd 280 pro's, and I'm happy with them, but for my ear, I'll mix with them at night, and then in the day I'll put the mix in the monitors, and the bass will be way too ****ing high! Doesn't help that I have hyped low end monitors. I LOVE my headphones, don't get me wrong, but I need a pair that emphasizes the bass more, something less flat maybe? I won't be near speakers enough to cross reference, so a pair of cans that extend the bass might help me to not spend too much time mixing the bass wrong. Also, I realize that this a fault of mine, and that I lack experience! Either way though, if I have this particular tendency, it can't hurt to have the tools to help me compensate for that issue. Also, I record the bass a lot, and since I won't have access to an amp, my new cans should double as headphones that are more pleasurable to practice/record the bass by itself. I don't want something ultra bass hyped, like dre's beats or something like that, just something where the presence of the bass comes more forward than on my 280's, ya' dig? My budget is 300 or less and I have a pretty good 2 channel headphone amplifier. Thank anyone and everyone who can offer me some guidance, I seriously appreciate it!! If it makes any difference to the more experienced mixers out there, the instruments I use in my music are the tabla, the bass (often with distortion and other processing..), cello and violin. I let the tabla have a lot of the bass frequency, and focus the bass more "towards" the midrange.. Maybe that's tmi.. Thanks again!